Sailing Magazine - Gear watch https://sailingmagazine.net/articles.sec-133-1-gear-watch.html Mon, 15 Aug 22 00:00:00 -0400 en hourly 1 SOS Distress Light https://sailingmagazine.net/article-1742-sos-distress-light.html

 The SOS Distress Light from Weems & Plath is approved by the United States Coast Guard for use in lieu of traditional pyrotechnic flares.

...]]>
Garmin Smartwatch https://sailingmagazine.net/article-1743-garmin-smartwatch.html

Garmin’s Quatix 3 is the first general-purpose watch that incorporates navigational features and marine tools that sailors will appreciate. 

...]]>
TackingMaster https://sailingmagazine.net/article-1744-tackingmaster.html

 The TackingMaster is a wrist-worn navigation device that helps racing sailors track wind shifts and trends to make educated tactical decisions.

...]]>
Wichard Hi-Tech Tether https://sailingmagazine.net/article-1745-wichard-hi-tech-tether.html

 New ProLine tethers from Wichard have innovative snap hooks made from forged aluminum, for strength and rust-resistance, while remaining extremely light.

...]]>
Spinlock rigging gauge https://sailingmagazine.net/article-1746-spinlock-rigging-gauge.html

 Rig tuning relies on accurate, repeatable results. Spinlock’s Rig-Sense has a composite lead spring calibrated to output loads to a direct linear scale

...]]>
Spinnaker furling line https://sailingmagazine.net/article-1716-spinnaker-furling-line.html Top-down furling systems require specialized line to handle the torque from the system. New England Ropes has a new Spinnaker Furling Line that allows for better transfer of the furling drum’s rotat...]]> Good To-Go https://sailingmagazine.net/article-1717-good-to-go.html  Typical onboard fare often consists of sandwiches and granola bars. The head chef at Good To-Go has a much better alternative for cold nights underway. The dehydrated meals consist of ingredient...]]> Neptu Link https://sailingmagazine.net/article-1718-neptu-link.html  High-speed internet access while sailing is not always possible. The new Neptu Link offers a solution that they say is “as easy and affordable as at home.” The device incorporated two antenn...]]> Twist-lock circuit tester https://sailingmagazine.net/article-1701-twist-lock-circuit-tester.html  Hubbell Marine's new 30A/125V Twist-Lock Circuit Tester takes the guesswork out of shore power when coming in to port.  This new handy device plugs in to any 30A/125V locking receptac...]]> Ronstan Clear Start Watch https://sailingmagazine.net/article-1700-ronstan-clear-start-watch.html  Ronstan Clear Start watches have been a “must have” for racers for several years. The easy-to-read displays, intuitive countdown mode, and one button synchronization are some of the reasons ...]]> Harken Carbo OneTouch winch handle https://sailingmagazine.net/article-1672-harken-carbo-onetouch-winch-handle.html  The sailing world has seen a lot of winch handles and continual efforts to improve on the basic design. First, they were made lighter (and less lightly to cause a concussion if pulled out of a w...]]> Sail Flop https://sailingmagazine.net/article-1642-sail-flop.html  We've seen sailcloth used for everything from duffle bags to sun shades, but in one of the most stylish incarnations of upcycled sails, now there are flip flops you can don to show off your sai...]]> Apple Watch apps https://sailingmagazine.net/article-1626-apple-watch-apps.html  Pocket Mariner, developers of Boat Beacon, SeaNav and several other tablet and smartphone sailing apps, now provides Apple Watch functionality. ...]]> B and G remote controller https://sailingmagazine.net/article-1617-b-and-g-remote-controller.html The palm-sized B and G Pilot Controller wireless remote has a set of simple keys to allow for fast and accurate autopilot control. ...]]> Logbook 3.6 https://sailingmagazine.net/article-1616-logbook-36.html  Logbook 3.6 is computer log software for Mac, Windows and iPad, but it is written from the perspective of a traditional logbook. ...]]> Boat Watch Pro https://sailingmagazine.net/article-1585-boat-watch-pro.html Boat Watch Pro is an entertaining and useful iOS 8 app that works like an AIS receiver but with added features. Point an iPhone or iPad’s camera at a ship and the app will identify the ship and give...]]> Thirsty-Mate pump https://sailingmagazine.net/article-1586-thirsty-mate-pump.html Breckson’s Thirsty-Mate 519C pump has a cast aluminum handle, stainless steel shaft and a low temperature hose. It’s 24" long and 3-inches in diameter with a 4-foot intake hose and a 6 foot outle...]]> Impecca Alert Band https://sailingmagazine.net/article-1587-impecca-alert-band.html Originally designed to keep drivers alert and safe, but perfect for watchkeepers, the Impecca Alert Band monitors and analyzes brainwaves, sending real-time notifications and alarms to a sailors smart...]]> Puffin Blanket https://sailingmagazine.net/article-1588-puffin-blanket.html Nemo’s $100 Puffin blanket is designed for outdoor use, and it might be perfect for cool nights at anchor. It’s filled with Stratofiber insulation that stays warm when damp and ripstop nylon shell...]]> Coffeeboxx https://sailingmagazine.net/article-1568-coffeeboxx.html

 

...]]>
A nautical christmas in sailcloth https://sailingmagazine.net/article-1554-a-nautical-christmas-in-sailcloth.html

 

...]]>
Coleman BatteryLock flashlight https://sailingmagazine.net/article-1549-coleman-batterylock-flashlight.html

 

...]]>
Shakespeare reflective dock and anchor lines https://sailingmagazine.net/article-1550-shakespeare-reflective-dock-and-anchor-lines.html

 

...]]>
Andersen E1 Electric Self-Tailing Winches https://sailingmagazine.net/article-1528-andersen-e1-electric-self-tailing-winches.html This new line of self-tailing electric winches is designed for almost any sized boat, and is meant to make family and shorthanded sailing easier. The E1 features push-button control of a powerful and ...]]> Dometic Cup Cooler https://sailingmagazine.net/article-1529-dometic-cup-cooler.html The Cup Cooler from Dometic is a topsides mini-mini fridge for a single beverage, like a koozie on steroids. It can replace most standard cup holders and will cool a standard water or soda bottle, or ...]]> Accon Marine Pull-Up Cleat https://sailingmagazine.net/article-1530-accon-marine-pull-up-cleat.html  Tired of catching your toes on cleats? Accon Marine's 470 pull-up, marine-grade stainless steel cleat can be pushed down into the deck when not in use. The cleat needs only three holes, no cutouts. It comes in 4.5", 6", 8" and 10" lengths, starting at $41.85...]]> Davis MiniShockle https://sailingmagazine.net/article-1531-davis-minishockle.html Davis Instruments' MiniShockle is a superstring black bungee that comes in 12 inches, 18 inches and 24 inches. Prices start at $13.99. The wire gate snaps, on each end, are 316 stainless steel so the...]]> Mr. Beams Lantern https://sailingmagazine.net/article-1532-mr-beams-lantern.html  The Mr. Beams lantern is a 260 lumen lantern that runs for 15 hours on four D-cell batteries. It is also has a USB charging port can can power three full cellphone charges. Mr. Beams uses LEDs t...]]> Une Bobine https://sailingmagazine.net/article-1520-une-bobine.html Hands-free PhoneThe Une Bobine is a flexible iPhone (it also fits micro USB-charging phones) stand for photography or just to keep the phone at eye level for any reason, like setting on the chart tabl...]]> Bernard Engraving's Sailboat Manager https://sailingmagazine.net/article-1521-bernard-engravings-sailboat-manager.html Bernard Engraving's Sailboat Manager series is a three-ring, loose leaf binder that holds laminated reference cards, preprinted forms for boat maintenance, medical, checklists, piloting informa...]]>